# Resources for Facilitation, Innovation & New Work Hi there! 👋 My name is [Jochen Nünning](https://www.linkedin.com/in/jnuenning/) and I'm a Facilitator and Design Thinking Coach based in Berlin. I'm passionate about the topics New Work and Innovation and facilitating problemsolving processes that help teams to co-create and improve their products, services and organization with more clarity and ease. In this living document I collect and share useful resources that also might help you and your team to work better together: With more compassion, creativity, intelligence, inclusion and fun. **Do you find this list helpful?** 👉 Feel free to share it with this link: resources.jochennuenning.com **Do you have any questions or feedback?** 👉 Don't hesitate to [reach out to me!](mailto:jochennuenning@gmail.com?subject=Facilitation Resources) I'd love to hear from you! --- ## Facilitation Practices ### Design Thinking / UX / Service Design * [How to build creative confidence](https://www.ted.com/talks/david_kelley_how_to_build_your_creative_confidence) TED Talk by David Kelley * [What is Design Thinking?](https://hpi.de/en/school-of-design-thinking/design-thinking/what-is-design-thinking.html) by HPI School of Design Thinking Potsdam * https://www.designthinking-methods.com/en by msg systems AG * https://designthinking.ideo.com by IDEO * [Design Dash](http://molly.is/writing/design-dash/) – A quick introductory design thinking exercise by Molly Clare Wilson * [Design Thinking Resources](https://www.ideou.com/pages/design-thinking) by ideoU * [Great online courses about Innovation and Design Thinking](https://open.hpi.de/courses/) by openHPI * [Remote Design Thinking](https://medium.com/remote-design-thinking) by Laïla von Alvensleben * [Online courses about Human Centered Design](https://www.acumenacademy.org/course/design-kit-human-centered-design) by Acumen Academy * [101 Design Methods](https://books.google.de/books/about/101_Design_Methods.html?id=9FrWCgAAQBAJ&redir_esc=y) by Vijay Kumar * [Creative Confidence](https://www.creativeconfidence.com/) by David & Tom Kelley * http://ajjuliani.com/design-thinking-activities/ * [The Guide to Design](https://start.uxdesign.cc/) by UX Collective * [Built for Mars - UX Case Studies](https://builtformars.com/) * [The variety of design thinking processes]( https://designfuckingthinking.tumblr.com/) ### Design Methods * [Product Design Methods Overview](https://uxplanet.org/product-design-methods-mind-map-f6511820a7d5) by UXplanet.org * [Core, Extend, Jump Method for content hierarchy and strategy](https://uxdesign.cc/why-we-love-the-core-extend-jump-approach-to-structure-digital-content-c20cbcf15e12) by UX Collective * [How to use storytelling for better UX](https://uxdesign.cc/storyframes-before-wireframes-starting-designs-in-the-text-editor-ec69db78e6e4) by UX Collective * [The Psychology of Design: 101 Cognitive Biases & Principles That Affect Your UX](https://growth.design/psychology/) by growth.design * [Persona Non-Grata](https://simplysecure.org/designunderpressure/) * [Tarot Cards of Tech](http://tarotcardsoftech.artefactgroup.com/) * [Laws of UX](https://lawsofux.com/) * https://principles.design/ ### User Research Methods * [Difference of Qualitative and Quantitative UX Research](http://www.siso.co.nz/2019/10/22/qualitative-and-quantitative-research) by Dominic Rogers * [The “Why” Behind Qualitative User Research](https://xd.adobe.com/ideas/process/user-research/why-behind-qualitative-user-research/) by Nick Babich * [Paper about the Cultural Probes Method](https://www.researchgate.net/publication/252627658_Opening_the_Cultural_Probes_Box_A_Critical_Reflection_and_Analysis_of_the_Cultural_Probes_Method) by Carmen Luippold (hi Carmen 👋), Katja Thoring and Roland M. Mueller ### User Research Articles * [Design research is only as good as the action it enables](https://uxdesign.cc/design-research-is-only-as-good-as-the-action-it-enables-843e09fb7d84) by Kajsa Westman ### User Research Tools * https://dscout.com/ ### Brainstorming Techniques * [Virtual Brainstorming](https://www.facebook.com/watch/?ref=saved&v=758730548219635) by HPI D-School * [Brainstorming](https://www.ideou.com/pages/brainstorming) by IDEO U * [Brainstorming Resources](https://www.ideou.com/pages/brainstorming-resources) by IDEO U * [Starfish Method](https://flaviableuel.com/starfish-brainstorming-method) by Flavia Bleuel * [Ideation Methods](https://www.boardofinnovation.com/staff_picks/our-favorite-ideation-tools/) by Board of Innovation * [For Better Brainstorming, Tell an Embarrassing Story](https://hbr.org/2017/10/research-for-better-brainstorming-tell-an-embarrassing-story) by Leigh Thompson (Harvard Business Review) * [ABC-Method](https://www.edutrainment-company.com/abc-listen-der-brainstorming-killer/) by Vera Birkenbihl (german) * [KaWa-Method](https://www.methodenkartei.uni-oldenburg.de/uni_methode/kawa/) by Vera Birkenbihl (german) * [Six Hats Method](https://triz-journal.com/innovation-methods/innovation-brainstorming-brst/put-six-thinking-hats-brainstorm/) by The TRIZ Journal ### Prototyping * [Scenes Toolkit](https://experience.sap.com/designservices/resource/scenes) by SAP ### Participatory Design / Co-Design / Co-Creation * [Manual Thinking](https://manualthinking.com/) * [Gamestorming](https://gamestorming.com/) ### Testing * https://uxdesign.cc/the-ultimate-notion-template-to-run-efficient-usability-tests-4a5ed9c29443 * https://www.notion.so/Usability-testing-716470724d4f46b290b3dbbefcb5d36b ### Design Ethics * [Intersectionality Framework](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSTf89pLcl0&feature=youtu.be) by Kimberlé Crenshaw * [Compassion is better than empathy!](https://tatianamac.com/posts/mistakes/) by Tatiana Mac * ["behavior of the user is the only thing that truly matters." - not gender](https://uxdesign.cc/the-gender-of-the-user-does-not-matter-period-afd683d016ed) by Marcus Lyra ### Social, Circular, Sustainable & Design Practices * [Workshop methods](https://drk-wohlfahrt.de/sonderseiten/soziale-innovation-digitalisierung/methoden) by German Red Cross (german) * [Sustainable Innovation Playbook](http://www.sustainable-innovation-playbook.de) by The Dark Horse (german) * [Disruptive Design](https://medium.com/disruptive-design) by Leyla Acaroglu * [Case Studies & Workshop Recordings](https://vimeo.com/alphachimp) by The Value Web & Alphachimp * [Circular Design Guide](https://www.circulardesignguide.com/resources) by IDEO * [Sustainable Business Canvas](https://start-green.net/tools/sustainable-business-canvas/) ### Design Sprint * https://designsprintkit.withgoogle.com/methodology/overview by Google * [Remote Design Sprints](https://www.thesprintbook.com/remote) by Jake Knapp * [The Pessimist's Design Sprint](https://brandonoxendine.com/writing/the-pessimists-design-sprint) by Brandon Oxendine ### Theory U & Presencing * [Great Introduction to Theory U](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_jS3EWRQVE) by Chris Corrigan * [Theory U Resources & Practices](https://www.presencing.org/resource/tools) by Presencing Institute * Get Unstuck with the [Case Clinic Method](https://www.presencing.org/files/tools/PI_Tool_CaseClinic.pdf) by Presencing Institute ### Liberating Structures * http://www.liberatingstructures.com * http://www.liberatingstructures.de (german) ### The Art of Hosting * https://www.artofhosting.org ### Future Research * [Wild Cards Method](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/irritierende-zuk%C3%BCnfte-wenn-das-unwahrscheinliche-birte-b%C3%B6sehans/) (german) ### Citizen Participation * [Oasis Game](https://www.elosfoundation.org/in-action/oasis-game.html) by Elos Foundation * https://www.partizipation.at/methoden.html ### Visual Practices * [How to make toast](https://www.ted.com/talks/tom_wujec_got_a_wicked_problem_first_tell_me_how_you_make_toast) (https://www.drawtoast.com) * [Tools for better thinking](https://untools.co) * [Systems Thinking](https://medium.com/disruptive-design/tools-for-systems-thinkers-the-6-fundamental-concepts-of-systems-thinking-379cdac3dc6a) * [Drawn Together through Visual Practice](https://visualpracticebook.com) * (Visual) [Tools for Schools](http://www.toolsforschools.dk) ### Theories * [Fieldtheory](https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feldtheorie_(Psychologie)) ### Podcasts * [First Time Facilitator](https://www.firsttimefacilitator.com/podcast) by Leanne Hughes * [Facilitation Stories](https://facilitationstories.libsyn.com/website) ### Workshop Hacks * [Building NPR Design’s Workshop "Go Bag"](https://npr.design/building-npr-designs-workshop-go-bag-a296e6dfac74) ## Organizational Design & New Work ### New Work * [Magazine "Neue Narrative"](https://www.neuenarrative.de/) (german) ### Organizational Transformation * [The Loop Approach](https://loopapproach.com) (Available in english & german, highly recommended!) * [Reinventing Organizations](https://www.reinventingorganizations.com/pay-what-feels-right.html) by Frederic Laloux * [Handbook for Digital Strategy](https://drk-wohlfahrt.de/sonderseiten/soziale-innovation-digitalisierung/kompetenzzentren-digitalisierung/handbuch-digitalstrategie) by German Red Cross (german) ### Team Development * [Team Canvas](http://theteamcanvas.com/) ### Warm-Ups / Ice-Breaker / Energizer * [Digital Warm-Up Guide](https://www.digitalwarmupguide.com/) by [Norman Nemitz](https://www.linkedin.com/in/nemitznorman/) & [Rebekka Alpermann](https://rebekkaalpermann.com/) * [Ask Deep Questions Cards](https://www.jankeck.com/ask-deep-questions/) by Jan Keck (for deep conversations) * https://icebreaker.range.co by Range * https://improwiki.com/de/aufwaermspiele * [5 Low-Threshold Team Building Activities](https://blog.trello.com/team-building-activities-video-meetings) by Trello ### Check-In / Check-Out * [Check-In Questions](https://www.unityeffect.net/resources/check-in-questions-a-simple-fun-ice-breaker-to-build-trust-and-engagement-during-team-events) by Unity Effect * [Workshop Spiele](https://www.workshop-spiele.de/) (german) * https://www.sessionlab.com/blog/online-energizers * http://tscheck.in/ * https://checkin.daresay.io * [https://www.in-visible.berlin/time2talk](https://www.in-visible.berlin/time2talk) by Rea Eldem from In-Visible Berlin * [Online Check-In & Warm-Ups](https://www.mural.co/blog/online-warm-ups-energizers) by Mural * [Emoji Generator for face warm up](https://perchance.org/3k12sw6hga#edit) ### Community Building & Culture Design * [Belong: Find Your People, Create Community, and Live a More Connected Life](https://books.google.de/books/about/Belong.html?id=45M0DwAAQBAJ&redir_esc=y) by Radha Agrawal * [Get Together](https://books.google.de/books?id=STupxwEACAAJ&dq=get+together+richardson&hl=de&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjpgbeyxLztAhXBjKQKHeOfCTMQ6AEwAHoECAQQAg) by Bailey Richardson, Kevin Huynh, Kai Elmer Sotto * [The Little Book of IDEO](https://lboi.ideo.com/davidkelley.html) * [Designing a Culture of Appreciation for Employees](https://insights.urbansportsclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/A-Step-by-Step-Guide-to-Setting-Up-An-Employee-Appreciation-Plan_DE-2.pdf?submission=5fbbabe44b9ac300153cbacc) by Urban Sports Club (german) * [The Culture Code](https://books.google.de/books/about/The_Culture_Code.html?id=IJyyDQAAQBAJ&redir_esc=y) by Daniel Coyle ### Virtual Community Building * [Virtual Communities for Impact - Toolkit](https://communitiesforimpact.org/toolkit/) ## Communication Culture ### Non-Violent Communication * Nonviolent Communication: Life-Changing Tools for Healthy Relationships (by Marshal B. Rosenberg) ### Feedback Culture * https://hanno.co/blog/remote-team-feedback/ * [The Secret to Giving Great Feedback](https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=797606404077305) * [I like, I wish](https://ilikeiwish.org) by ilikeiwish.org * [I like, I wish](https://toolbox.hyperisland.com/i-like-i-wish-i-wonder) by Hyper Island * [Great article about Feedback](https://www.deutschlandfunkkultur.de/arbeitswelt-wir-brauchen-eine-neue-feedbackkultur.976.de.html?dram%3Aarticle_id=455527) by Deutschlandfunk Kultur (german) * [The Mom Test](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hla1jzhan78) ### Better Meetings * [How to sabotage a meeting](http://howtosabotageameeting.com/) * [Workshopper Playbook](https://workshopperplaybook.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/The+Workshopper+Playbook+Ebook.pdf) & [Lightning Decision Jam](https://uxplanet.org/lightning-decision-jam-a-workshop-to-solve-any-problem-65bb42af41dc) * BrainTrust Method by PIXAR (Link [1](https://blog.prototypr.io/pixars-braintrust-why-it-is-important-for-a-creative-culture-7dcbee3aa8f5) and [2](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1Mr3oKR7oM)) * [Online Meeting Tools](https://meeting.toolchest.org/thinking-differently/starter-toolchest/) * [The Nine Elements of Transformative Facilitation](https://daniel-stillman.medium.com/the-nine-elements-of-transformative-facilitation-2aa0c93dbec5) * [8 Fantastic Facilitation Playbooks for Designing Productive Nonprofit Meetings](https://medium.com/@kanter/8-fantastic-facilitation-playbooks-for-designing-productive-nonprofit-meetings-1faea7fd5b41) by Beth Kanter * https://99u.adobe.com/articles/59994/the-new-rules-of-communicating-in-a-virtual-world * https://hbr.org/2020/03/how-to-get-people-to-actually-participate-in-virtual-meetings ### Decision Making * [Delegation Poker](https://management30.com/practice/delegation-poker/) ## Project Management ### Self-Organization * https://gettingthingsdone.com by David Allen * [Self Leadership (Wie du dich selbst führst)](https://workwhile.de/) by Neue Narrative (german) ### Project Planning * [Project Planning Tools](https://overthefence.com.de/tools/) by Over The Fence ### Kanban & Scrum * [Working Agile with Scrum & Kanban](https://https://www.atlassian.com/agile/manifesto) by Atlassian ### Retrospective * https://retromat.org * [Start - Stop - Continue](https://www.tu-berlin.de/fileadmin/fg14/ELV-PDF/Start_Stop_Continue.pdf) by TU Berlin (german) * https://www.funretrospectives.com/ ## Remote Collaboration & Culture ### Working Remote * https://dailyremote.com/remote-work-blog/ * [Distributed Work Playbooks](https://services.google.com/fh/files/blogs/distributedworkplaybooks.pdf) by Google ### Remote Workshop Tools * [MeetButter](https://meetbutter.io/) ### Remote Facilitation * [The art of connecting online: 7 social innovation insights](https://drift.eur.nl/the-art-of-connecting-online-7-social-innovation-insights) * [For a blended event, BYOD](https://medium.com/urban-arenas-for-sustainable-and-just-cities/for-a-blended-event-byod-b71afa91eb5) * [10 Remote Facilitation Tips by AJ+Smart](https://miro.com/blog/remote-facilitation/) ### Remote Culture * [Work Better Together](https://enspiral.com) by Enspiral * [Handbooks for decentralised organising](https://hackmd.io/@yHk1snI9T9SNpiFu2o17oA/Skh_dXNbE?type=view) by Richard D. Bartlett * [Case Study in Virtual Event Planning](https://www.mural.co/blog/2020-mural-virtual-offsite) by Mural ### Virtual Communication * [The reason Zoom calls drain your energy](https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20200421-why-zoom-video-chats-are-so-exhausting) by BBC ### Remote Tools #### Remote Workshop Toolboxes * https://www.collaborationsuperpowers.com/tools/ * https://www.boardofinnovation.com/tools/ * https://www.ibm.com/design/thinking/page/toolkit * https://toolbox.hyperisland.com * https://open.hpi.de/courses/international-teams2019 * https://www.ahoyteam.com/guide * https://lailavon.com/Resources * https://hanno.co/playbooks/remote * https://www.remotestarterkit.com/ * https://deepwork.studio/tools/ #### Meeting & Workshop Timer ##### Timer Applications * [Visual Timer for Mac and PC (Open Source & Free)](http://freeware.the-meiers.org) for Mac and PC * [Time Timer App](https://www.timetimer.com/collections/applications) for Mac/PC/Android/iOS ##### Webtimer * http://visualtimerapp.com * https://timer.pizza #### Scheduling appointments * doodle.com * when2meet.com #### Text Tools * https://etherpad.org/ * https://hackmd.io * https://docs.google.com * https://otter.ai #### Collaborative Whiteboard * [Miro](https://miro.com) * [Mural](https://mural.co) * [FigJam](https://www.figma.com/figjam) #### Project Management * https://trello.com * https://asana.com * https://monday.com * https://notion.so #### OKR Management * https://www.koan.co/ #### Collective Decision Making * https://www.loomio.org #### Video Conferencing / Synchronous Communication * [Zoom](https://zoom.us) * [Zoom Guide](https://www.jankeck.com/zoomguide) by Jan Keck * [Around](https://www.around.co/) * [BigBlueButton](https://bigbluebutton.org/) * [Jitsi](https://meet.jit.si/) #### Asynchronous Communication * [Slack](https://slack.com) * [Microsoft Teams](https://www.microsoft.com/de-de/microsoft-teams/group-chat-software) * [Mattermost](https://mattermost.com/) #### Webcam Tools * https://manycam.com * https://www.ecamm.com #### Live Participation * https://sli.do * https://menti.com * https://www.wooclap.com/ ### Virtal Conferences & Events * https://spatial.io * https://spatial.chat * https://www.wonder.me * https://www.kasama-konferenz.de ### Presentation Tools * https://remotectrl.net/ * https://www.mmhmm.app/ ## Business Modelling & Strategic Product Design ### Business Modelling for Solopreneurs I can highly recommend all books by [Ehrenfried & Brigitte Conta Gromberg](https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=smart+business+concepts) (all german only) * Business Model Produktreppe * Die Zeit der Smarten Experten * Solopreneur * Smart Business Concepts ### Tools * [Business Model Canvas](https://www.strategyzer.com/canvas/business-model-canvas) by Alexander Osterwalder ## Personal Growth & Potential Development ### Books * The Element (by Ken Robinson) * Finding Your Element (by Ken Robinson) * Designing Your Life (by Bill Burnett, Dave Evans) * What Color Is Your Parachute (by Richard Nelson Bolles) ### Tools for Self Reflection * https://yearcompass.com/ * https://dschool.stanford.edu/resources/getting-unstuck * [Business Model U](https://businessmodelyou.com) by Timothy Clark ## Bonus * [8 Regeln für den totalen Stillstand](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNUONvT4vhk) by Prof. Peter Kruse